Pinterest wants to give its users more control. This week, the popular social photo-sharing site announced that it is adding several new features to do that. 

One of the new features Pinterest announced is user blocking. To use it, go to an individual’s profile page, hover your cursor over the small flag icon in the right side of the profile information, and then select to block that person.

Block You and Me

Blocking that user means that neither of you can follow each other’s Pinterest boards, or can like, repin or comment on each other’s pins. Additionally, any previous follows or comments between you and that person are removed by the blocking. However, any previous likes or repins are not automatically removed, although you can “unlike” pins individually.

Blocking an individual does not automatically generate a notification to that person, but he or she will know they’re blocked when they try to follow your board or to interact. An alert is sent if that individual tries to follow you, interact with your pins or invite you to a group board.

Pinterest.png

A blocked person’s boards and pins can still be seen in public areas, such as search results, general category feeds and group boards in which you both participate. Boards and pins are also still available for public viewing, of course, just as they would be for a non-logged in viewer.

Now, suppose you’re no longer angry with that ex-boyfriend or ex-girlfriend. You can unblock them by again navigating to his/her profile page and clicking “unblock.”

Report User, Email

The other new feature is “report user,” which escalates the situation from the previously available “report a pin.” If you think a user’s entire profile -- that is, their account as a member of the Pinterest community -- needs a review, “report user” will send an alert about that person to the site’s Community team.

As with “block user,” “report user” can be found under the flag on the profile page.

In addition to these protective updates, Pinterest is also adding new granular email preferences, which add more settings to control when email notifications are sent.

These are typical features we see in social networking sites today. Twitter let's you block users and report accounts, and Facebook does similar things. It's good to know you can keep out the scaly-wags and porn star wannabes from your Pinterest account now.