purple shovel in the sand
Is it time we revisit how we measure productivity? PHOTO: Craig Dennis

Software, software everywhere and not a drop to drink. 

Every day it feels as if a new app is released into the digital workplace ecosystem which promises to make employees more productive, more efficient, more valuable. Yet headlines and studies continue to sound alarms with reports of stagnating growth and slowing productivity.

Could it be that we're measuring the wrong things? That the value today's knowledge workers (among others) provide isn't actually being recognized?

Join in during our Tweet Jam on Tuesday to discuss the ongoing dilemma of the productivity paradox — and to see if there is some way we can put it to rest. 

The Tweet Jam kicks off on Nov. 22 at 10am PT/ 1pm ET / 1800 GMT. The broader CMSWire community is invited to take part. Join in on Twitter with the #socbizchat hashtag, by logging into the chatroom of your choice or through CoverIt Live, found below on the day of the Tweet Jam.

The Questions

Tweet Jams rarely travel a linear path, but the questions below will guide our discussion:

  1. Do the metrics companies use today to measure productivity apply? If not, what should they be measuring?
  2. Clearly software helps us get work done. So what gets in the way of companies reaping the full rewards of what it offers?
  3. What steps do companies need to take before picking from the growing number of digital workplace tools?
  4. What can companies do to lessen or remove the problems related to context switching?
  5. Do vertical specific tools help or harm productivity efforts?
  6. What examples or best practices can you share of organizations successfully supporting their employees' work?

The Participants

While we encourage anyone interested to join in on the conversation, we always have some experts on hand to keep the conversation flowing.

  • Christian Buckley, CMO at Beezy — @buckleyplanet
  • Daisy Hernandez, Global VP of Product Management, Enterprise Collaboration at SAP — @mmchernandez
  • David Lavenda, VP Product Strategy at harmonie — @dlavenda
  • Dion Hinchcliffe, Chief Strategy Officer at 7Summits — @dhinchcliffe
  • Martyn Perks, Head of Customer Insight at BrightStarr — @martynperks
  • Sam Marshall, Owner at ClearBox Consulting — @sammarshall
  • Sean Winter, Senior Director Solution Consulting at Jive — @seanwinter
  • Seth Maislin, Principal Consultant at Earley Information Science — @sethmaislin
  • Sharon O'Dea, Independent Digital Strategy Consultant — @sharonodea
Live Blog CMSWire Tweet Jam: The Productivity Paradox #SocBizChat

Participation Guidelines

A few things to keep in mind:

  • Introduce yourself with your first #socbizchat tweet. Include your name, job title and organization you work for 
  • Answer question one with A1, question two with A2, etc. — and always include the #socbizchat hashtag. For example, "@bigbird A1 We can't measure new styles of work with old measurements — the measurements need to reflect the complexity of work today #socbizchat" 
  • Please don't pitch products or services — stay knowledge focused 
  • Keep the discussion professional, but informal 
  • Remember that this is a public chat — be thoughtful

Still confused how to join? Read this

We hope to see you tomorrow.