piano playing robot
PHOTO: Franck Veschi

When Boston Dynamics' robot dog opened a door you'd think the world had ended. AlphaGo handily defeated the number one ranked Go player in the world, Ke Jie. California will now allow self-driving cars on the roads without a human present. 

As impressive as all these feats of artificial intelligence, machine learning and automation are, their implications for the workplace are unclear. And while the hype around AI grows, we are still a long way off from artificial intelligence as you might imagine it, according to MIT Sloan School of Management professor Erik Brynjolffson.

Join Us On Twitter

So how do businesses separate the practical from the hype? What steps can you take to ready yourself for the inevitable progress of AI into your workplace? Join us Feb. 28 for an hour-long Tweet Jam as we discuss these questions and more. The Tweet Jam will take place at 10 am PT/1 pm ET /1800 GMT. 

We invite the broader CMSWire community to join in using the #digworkchat hashtag or logging into the chatroom of your choice. Still have questions, here are the basics for joining the Tweet Jam.

The Questions

We cover a lot of ground in our Tweet Jams, but these questions will guide our discussion:

  1. How can businesses separate out the hype from the promise of AI in the workplace?  
  2. What areas in the workplace do you see AI/ML currently having the biggest impact and where will it in the future? 
  3. What foundational work do businesses need to complete before introducing "intelligent" technology?
  4. What specific problems do you think chatbots can solve for employees? Where do they fall short? 
  5. Will AI's introduction to the workplace help or hurt employees and their job prospects? Why do you feel one way or the other? 
  6. What is a realistic timeline to achieving an "intelligent workplace?"

The Participants

We encourage everyone to join in the conversation, but the following practitioners will be on hand to keep the conversation flowing:

  • Barry Jinks, Founder at Colligo — @bjinks
  • Carrie Basham Young, Principal and CEO at Talk Social to Me — @carrieyoung
  • David Coleman, Founder and Managing Director at Collaboration Strategies — @dcoleman100
  • Dion Hinchcliffe, VP and Principal Analyst at Constellation Research — @dhinchcliffe
  • John Zimmerer, Senior Director of Marketing at Topdown — @johnzimmerer
  • Laurence Hart, Director at TeraThink — @piewords
  • Martyn Perks, Head of Customer Insight at BrightStarr — @martynperks
  • Neil Ward-Dutton, Co-founder and Research Director at MWD Advisors — @neilwd
  • Stephen Hamrick, VP of Product Management at SAP — @SocialHamrick
  • Tom Petrocelli, Contributing Analyst at Amalgam Insights — @tompetrocelli

Participation Guidelines

A few things to keep in mind:

  • Introduce yourself with your first #digworkchat tweet. Include your name, job title and organization you work for 
  • Answer question one with A1, question two with A2, etc. — and always include the #digworkchat hashtag. For example, "@bigbird A2 We haven't even started to tap the potential of AI in the workplace #digworkchat" 
  • Please don't pitch products or services — stay knowledge focused 
  • Keep the discussion professional, but informal 
  • Remember this is a public chat — be thoughtful

Still confused how to join? Read this

We hope to see you there!