Packt Publishing, open source
Now in its fourth year, the Packt Awards (news, site)  offer US$ 24,000 in prizes to the best in open source content management software. Will Drupal walk off with the gold again? Or will Joomla or DotNetNuke steal the crown?

Break out the Black Ties and Golden Envelopes

Nominations are now being taken for the fourth annual PacktPub Open Source CMS Awards. To encourage nominations and voting, six 8GB iPod Nanos are being offered as prizes to three randomly chosen nominators and three voters.

Categories this year include a new Hall of Fame award alongside the usual titles of:

  • Best Overall Open Source CMS
  • Most Promising Open Source CMS
  • Best PHP Open Source CMS
  • Best Other Open Source CMS
  • Open Source MVPs

The Hall of Fame award is for previous winners of the Overall award and is an attempt to open up that category for more nominees and not just the open source CMS usual suspects.

Nominations opened last week and run until September 11 with voting running from September 21 to the end of October. The results are announced on November 9, 2009.

In its first year, 2006, there was only one category -- the Open Source Award -- which Joomla won. Last year saw the introduction of the MVPs award where we saw Nick Jones of PHP Fusion and Matt Mullenweg of WordPress, among many others, picking up awards for their efforts.

Who will be worthy of your nomination this year? If you have seen someone working their butt off for their CMS, now would be a good time to mention them.