Codie Awards
Every year since 1993 the Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA) holds the Codie Awards. These awards do hold some water, as they are the software industry's only peer-recognition awards program. The categories of software reviewed include databases, CRM, collaboration, business intelligence, asset management, and yes, you guessed it, content management. The winners are not announced until late May of 2005, but the finalists for each category have been decided.In the CMS category (in alphabetical order) we have:
  • CrownPeak Advantage CMS
  • Ektron CMS400.NET
  • Ingeniux CMS 4.1
  • Macromedia Web Publishing System
  • Stellent Site Studio
  • Vignette Content Management
Take it for what its worth. This is a mixed bag of what I for one would call apples and oranges, but its nice to see some recognition of hard work here. And for those familiar with the CMS market, its clear that each one of these products represents a strong candidate in its class. Winners will be announced at the 20th Annual Codie Awards Gala will be held on May 25, 2005 at Universal Studio's Globe Theater in Universal City, CA. Codie Awards History In 1986, the Excellence in Software Awards program was established by the Software Publishers Association (SPA), now the Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA), so that the pioneers of the then-nascent software industry could evaluate and honor each other's work. In 1993, the Excellence in Software Awards became the Codie Awards.